DCNR Calendar of Events
Sign Up

Self-Guided Prairie Wildflower Walkabout

Saturday, July 20, 2024 7am to 8pm

+ 8 dates

  • Sunday, July 21, 2024 7am to 8pm
  • Monday, July 22, 2024 7am to 8pm
  • Tuesday, July 23, 2024 7am to 8pm
  • Wednesday, July 24, 2024 7am to 8pm
  • Thursday, July 25, 2024 7am to 8pm
  • Friday, July 26, 2024 7am to 8pm
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024 7am to 8pm
  • Sunday, July 28, 2024 7am to 8pm

Jennings Environmental Education Center

Self-Guided Prairie Wildflower Walkabout

2951 Prospect Rd., Slippery Rock, PA 16057-5023

View map

Explore the stunning and diverse blooms of Pennsylvania’s only managed and protected prairie during a special, limited-time only Self-Guided Prairie Wildflower Walkabout at Jennings Environmental Education Center. 

From Saturday, July 20 through Sunday, August 4 during peak prairie bloom, visitors can pick up free guide and follow a designated route to discover the tales these flowers have to tell. 

With incredible adaptations in a harsh environment, to intricate connections between the plants, bugs, birds, and more, the prairie’s blooms on view are sure to impress in both their beauty and importance.

No registration is required, but visitors wishing to receive the guide electronically may contact jenningssp@pa.gov or call 724-794-6011. The printed guide and experience are available sunrise to sunset July 20 - August 5 beginning at the prairie side parking lot bulletin board, as well as from 8 am 4 pm in the Center. 

Visitors should be prepared with water, sunscreen, closed-toed shoes, and bug spray. Morning is generally the best time to visit, as afternoons are quite hot on the open prairie.

Saturday, July 20, 2024 7am to 8pm